RSS Feed

Where to begin

Posted on

This is not the first blog I’ve had but I believe that its going to be the most fun.  Let start with an introduction.  My name is Sarah.  I am an American.  My hubby’s name is Willie.  He’s a Kenyan.  Our son’s name is Benji.  He’s a dual citizen – American and Kenyan. Personally I’m a little jealous.  He gets to have two passports for two different countries at the same time.  So essentially our family is half African and half American. 

How far we've come
How far we’ve come

Currently we live in Nairobi, Kenya.  Willie grew up in Nairobi.  I lived in a rural part of Kenya from 2002 to 2008 with my parents who where missionaries here.  Then we moved to Nairobi and met the love of my life.  Mom and Dad moved back to the States but we decided to stay a little while longer.

Willie is a sound engineer by training and he loves repairing anything electronic.  He loves mentoring young men and hanging out with Benji.  He is a most amazing hubby and daddy. 

DSC_1393 3 (1024x753)

I am not sure what I am by training :)  But I’m wifey, mommy, cook, baker, writer, and photographer all by practice.  

DSC_1350 3 (1024x683)

We have a photography business and specialize in telling the stories of love.  My favorite kinds of photos are engagement, weddings, maternity, newborn, family and children.  We have also done quite a bit of pre-marital counseling and have a deep passion for nurturing strong marriages.  We believe that marriage can be fun, happy and successful. 

DSC_1500 1 (683x1024)

Benji is busy trying to do everything we do.  He is especially fond of all things electronic and pretend cooking.  Peek-a-boo (or I SEE as he calls it) is his favorite pastime.  But that might be because he is not quite 1 1/2 years old 🙂

DSC_1345 2 (1024x681)

My hope for this blog is to let it tell our story as it happens.  I have drifted away from writing over the past few years and this is one of the ways I hope to get back to it.  Certainly there will be lots of photos, plenty of cooking and baking and many posts about Benji.  I hope that it will also be a place of encouragement for those struggling in their marriages and hopefully it will be a blessing to a few other cross-cultural families. 

DSC_1449 1 (1024x683)

About swamuhiu

Wifey, mommy and many other things. I'm enjoying my African adventure with my wonderful hubby from Kenya.

5 responses »

  1. I officially love this blog! I love writing and cooking aswell, had slacked on my food blog but after seeing this I’m totally encouraged to get it started again.
    Your inspiring a whole lot of pple Sarah! You make marriage seem so very beautiful-and pple need to know.
    Baraka!

    Reply
  2. Hello from NYS! I love your blog and most of all the pics! Dr. Bruce sends his love!
    OX Cheryl Thompson

    Reply
  3. Hi Sarah,

    I believe you have inspired me, I always have wanted to write, and I think I might just start if you keep this up. It is both refreshing and a wonderful start.

    Reply
  4. This will be so so much fun. Am loving it already since just had a happy reading. Looking forward to following the Kenyamerican stories 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

