RSS Feed

Its a Good Day

Posted on

I’m excited about today.  I’ve not been feeling very well (probably because hubby and I have been working late and sleeping past midnight) but its still a good day. 

Hubby and I stayed awake last night talking about God and life and death and heaven and other interesting topics.  I know many people say that thinking about death is morbid but I find that contemplating the realities of life and death, God and humanity, heaven and hell gives me more purpose and passion to enjoy this life and make it worthwhile in my own way.

I’ve always had great dreams and ambitions but it rarely seems like I’m achieving much.  I have always tended to be the kind of person who is good at many things but great at few.  The over-achiever in me wants me to be great at them all.  I want to be a great wife, a great mom, a great Christian, a great writer, a great photographer, a great cook, a great mentor, a great knitter, a great friend, and the list goes on.  And you know what I kinda am great but when I fail to meet my expectations of myself in just one area I suddenly deem myself a failure. 

Ok well that took a twist I didn’t see coming 🙂 Where I was headed is that today is a good day.  I slept in after getting Benji up (he’s teething and very cranky) while hubby made oatmeal and toast for breakfast.  I straightened up the house (every room!), washed the dishes, swept the floor and mopped up some yucky spots on the floor.  I have a number of things I want to post here today.  I read something inspiring about photography (basically a call from one photographer to others for us to get our acts together :).  And I feel like I’m headed in the right direction.  I might not get there as fast as I like but I’m heading there. 

Our clients are happy with the work we deliver.  I might not meet some of my fellow photographers standards or know all the technical stuff that they know and you know what I may never reach there and that’s ok with me.  My goal with photography is this: show the world the way God sees it and provide my clients with reasonably priced photography while capturing their memories simply and beautifully.  Just that.  And that I can do well. 

I’m writing again.  I don’t think I can explain how amazing I felt while writing paragraphs 2 and 3 up there.  My favorite thing about writing is that I write from deep inside, from a place that I don’t even know is there until I start writing.  I don’t express myself very well verbally, but  give me a paper and pencil and I know I can make sense.  Every thing comes together in my mind when I start to write.  Its wonderful and I’ve missed it so much. 

I’m blogging about food…talk about random.  I would never have thought I would be one of “those” people! :D  But I love cooking and I’m getting better every day. I’ve had so many ladies ask me for cooking lessons but they never seem to work out…so now I can have virtual cooking lessons.  And its a wonderful way to combine my love for photography, writing and cooking. 

Well all that to say there are some fun things coming up later right here on Our African American Family.  Thanks for sharing the journey with us. 

About swamuhiu

Wifey, mommy and many other things. I'm enjoying my African adventure with my wonderful hubby from Kenya.

2 responses »

  1. Sarah, Thank you so much for sharing your life with us in an open and honest way! I love reading your writing – GOD has gifted you in this and so many area! It helps my mother’s heart to just know a bit more about your heart, your lives and your days!!!

    As far as death goes i know WHO goes through the valley of death with me and i will just rest in HIS unfailing LOVE! I hope to leave this world singing praise songs with my family!!! :D!!!

    Have a Blessed day, Daughter! I will go and look at the other things on your blog! Love you!

    Reply
  2. It is funny how it is only yesterday that we (BOMA) hubby and I were talking about death after reading the below:

    **********************************************
    The last enemy that will be destroyed is death. 1 Corinthians 15:26

    Steve Jobs, in a 2005 commencement address at Stanford University, had this to say about death:

    No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be, because Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new. Right now the new is you, but someday not too long from now, you will gradually become the old and be cleared away. Sorry to be so dramatic, but it is quite true.

    **********************************************

    There is some truth to Jobs’ statement. He is right when he says that death is the destination we all share, and no one has ever escaped it. However, I disagree with his statement that “Death is very likely the single best invention of Life.” It is not the single best invention of Life. In fact, it is the worst. The Bible even tells us that death is not a friend. Death is an enemy: “The last enemy that will be destroyed is death” (1 Corinthians 15:26).

    Death was never a part of God’s original plan. When He placed Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, He told them to stay away from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil. But once they ate of that forbidden fruit, sin entered the world. And along with sin came sickness and aging and, of course, death. But what was lost in that Garden was purchased at the cross of Calvary. Jesus came to die on the cross to buy back that which was lost. Death died when Christ rose.

    So we are grateful and know that when we die we will actually have done what is required of us and we are learning to live with no regrets at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

